Data sharing principles

The Data Sharing and Release legislation will include a modernised risk management framework that safely unlocks greater benefits of public sector data. The approach we have adopted builds on the internationally recognised Five-Safes Framework.

Our approach to public sector data sharing will adopt five Data Sharing Principles. The evolved Data Sharing Principles provide for strategic, privacy, security, ethical, and operational risks to be considered as part of a holistic assessment.

The five Data Sharing Principles provide a risk management framework to help government agencies to share data safely.

When agencies are considering whether data can be shared safely, they need to consider multiple factors, including:

  • What project is the data going to be used for?
  • Who is going to use the data?
  • Will the data be used in a safe and secure environment?
  • How detailed is the data?
  • Can the results of the project be published without identifying the people or organisations that provided the data originally?

The Principles help agencies to think about all of these factors together and better manage any risks associated with data sharing. 

The National Data Commissioner will support best practice through guidance and education, aimed at voluntary compliance with the legislation, and will escalate to a graduated enforcement model when necessary to protect public sector data.

For more information on how government agencies ensure appropriate safeguards around data sharing, read the Sharing Data Safely Framework.

Sharing data safely